![]() |
The Better Volume Indicator |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | |
Tanaka ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 18 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 1:11am |
|
|
![]() |
|
maximo ![]() BullCharts Guru ![]() ![]() Joined: 02 Sep 2006 Location: Australia Posts: 232 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
That appears to be only part of the indicator for tick bars, coloured Cyan.
Here is the full Better Volume Indicator from their site, recoded in Bullscript.
Enjoy!
[description ="Better Volume Indicator - http://emini-watch.com/free-stuff/volume-indicator/"]Range := High - Low;Value1 := Volume;Value2 := Volume*Range;Value3 := If(Range<>0,Volume/Range,0);ma (Value1,100,S);[linestyle =Grounded Bar; width=4][Color =Cyan] { Normal bars }Volume ;[Color =Gold] { Low volume bars }If (Value1 = Lowest(Value1,20),V,undefined);[Color =Red] { Volume climax bars }If (Value2 = Highest(Value2,20),V,undefined);[Color =Lime Green] { High churn bars }If (Value3 = Highest(Value3,20),V,undefined);[Color =Magenta] { Climax & High churn bars }If (Value2 = Highest(Value2,20) and Value3 = Highest(Value3,20),V,undefined);[Color =Coral] { Low churn bars }If (Value3 = Lowest(Value3,20),V,undefined)
Edited by maximo - 22 Mar 2011 at 4:46pm |
|
![]() |
|
Tanaka ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 18 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Maximo! You are starting to make me feel guilty for not knowing how to code. You are to my rescue once again, and I’m very grateful. If you’re ever down Geelong way I owe you some beers! The indicator is wonderful as usual! Tanaka |
|
![]() |
|
Niftyg ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 23 Mar 2011 Location: Gold Coast Posts: 11 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi Max,
Firstly I would just like to thank you for sharing your expertise and BullCharts coding. I have been a bullcharts user for a number of years now and look at this forum frequently to see if you have posted. I'm afraid coding has me mostly beat.
I have looked at this indicator you have kindly provided/re-coded and I think it may assist me in my trading.
Having looked at the web site noted in the indicator, I was wondering if you could please add in that the volume climax up bar (colour red) should only appear on a bar when the close is higher than the open and the volume climax down bar (colour gold) should only appear when the close is lower than the open. This would then I think better reflect the indicator described on the web site.
Many thanks
|
|
![]() |
|
Tanaka ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 18 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sorry to disturb you again Maximo, I was trying to use this indictor to scan, but it can't produce any signals. Can this be done? |
|
![]() |
|
Tanaka ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 18 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
You're right Niftyg. Good picking up on that! ![]() |
|
![]() |
|
maximo ![]() BullCharts Guru ![]() ![]() Joined: 02 Sep 2006 Location: Australia Posts: 232 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Good work Nifty, those changes made appear to be better signals.
Tanaka, the colours need to be assigned to variables for a scan to
pick them up. Should be okay now.
Good trading guys!
[description ="Better Volume Indicator - http://emini-watch.com/free-stuff/volume-indicator/"]Range := High - Low;Value1 := Volume;Value2 := Volume*Range;Value3 := If(Range<>0,Volume/Range,0);ma (Value1,100,S);[linestyle =Grounded Bar; width=4][Color =Cyan] { Normal bars }Volume ;[Color =Gold] { High volume bars }GoldBar:= If(Value1 = Highest(Value1,20) and Close > Open,V,undefined);GoldBar; [Color =Red] { Volume climax bars }RedBar:= If(Value2 = Highest(Value2,20) and Close < Open,V,undefined);RedBar; [Color =Lime Green] { High churn bars }GreenBar:= If(Value3 = Highest(Value3,20),V,undefined);GreenBar; [Color =Magenta] { Climax & High churn bars }MagentaBar:= If(Value2 = Highest(Value2,20) and Value3 = Highest(Value3,20),V,undefined);MagentaBar; [Color =Coral] { Low churn bars }OrangeBar:= If(Value3 = Lowest(Value3,20),V,undefined);OrangeBar; Edited by maximo - 23 Mar 2011 at 7:50pm |
|
![]() |
|
Niftyg ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 23 Mar 2011 Location: Gold Coast Posts: 11 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi Max and Tanaka,
Thanks for the re-coding Max
![]() I have already changed it on my indicator (I can manage minor editing), just wanted to bring it to your and other readers attention.
Thanks Tanaka for bringing the indicator to my notice.
![]() |
|
![]() |
|
Tanaka ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 18 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Right once again Niftyg! I have made the changes. Once again thank you Max for your coding and thank you Niftyg for your diligence. I have already found the indicator quickens up my analysis of volume/price action. I think I might even play around with the standard 20 bar look back to see if there are more optimal settings even though at first glance 20 bars looks sufficient. I don’t want to bother Max anymore, he has been too kind! so does anyone know what I am doing wrong? I just want to set up my scan so that it finds EOD results from this indicator, when I put the first value to compare in BullScans as Better Volume Indicator (result 3) is true, I get an error message ‘The condition type you have selected may not be used with the type of first value’. Happy trading everyone! |
|
![]() |
|
Niftyg ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 23 Mar 2011 Location: Gold Coast Posts: 11 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi Tanaka,
I think I might be able to answer that for you. Try using "is defined" instead of true.
Regards
Nifty
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |